Skip to Main Content

Department Seminar Schedule

math1

Algebra, Geometry, Cryptology Seminar – Fridays, 3:00-4:00, MB 124 (alternating weeks with Topology Seminar)
Computational Science and Engineering (CSE) – Thursdays, 1:30pm – , ERB 1127
Set Theory Seminar – Tuesday, 3:00-4:00, MB 124
Topology Seminar – Fridays, 3:00-4:00, MB 124 (alternating weeks with Algebra, Geometry, Cryptology Seminar)

Informal seminar talks in reverse chronological order

If you wish to give a department seminar talk, send an email to kyungdukko@boisestate.edu 
Click on title for abstract.

Nilima Nigam
(SIAM PNW Section Seminar – Winter 2017)
Title: A modification of Schiffer’s conjecture, and a proof via finite elements
Date: Thursday, 26 January 2017
Time: 4:00-5:00pm
Room: MB 139 via Video Conference

Jason Smith
Title: The Fibonacci number of the Tadpole graph
Date: Friday, 4 Noivember 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Jonny Comes
Title: Jellyfish Brauer and partition algebras
Date: Friday, 21 October 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Randy LeVeque
(Inaugural SIAM PNW Section Seminar)
Title: New tools for tsunami warning and probabilistic hazard assessment
Date: Thursday, 20 October 2016
Time: 4:00-5:00pm
Room: ILC 302

Matthew Jones
Title: Organic Photovoltaic Devices – Operation and Simulation
Date: Thursday, 13 October 2016
Time: 1:30pm – 2:30 pm
Room: ERB 1127

Liljana Bavinkostova
Title: Anomalous primes and the elliptic Korselt criterion
Date: Friday, 7 October 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Jaber Javanshir
Title: Least squares spectral element method for laminar and turbulent flows
Date: Thursday, 13 September 2016
Time: 1:30pm –
Room: ERB 1127

Sam Coskey
Title: Classifying automorphisms of countable trees
Date: Tuesday, 13 September 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Marion Scheepers
Title: The parity of permutations and Quadratic Reciprocity
Date: Friday, 9 September 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Uwe Kaiser
Title: On the Alexander Polynomial of Alternating Knots and Links
Date: Friday, 2 September 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Uwe Kaiser
Title: What in an alternating knot?
Date: Friday, 29 April 2016
Time: 3:00-3:50pm
Room: MB124

Inanc Senocak
Title: A Massively Parallel Computational Framework for Grid Integration of Wind Energy over Complex Terrain
Date: Tuesday, 26 April 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Bruce Reznick
Title: Sums of powers of polynomials
Date: Friday, 22 April 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Marion Scheepers
Title: Ramsey theory and the Borel Conjecture
Date: Wednesday, 20 April 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Heather Wilbur
Title: Computing with functions on the disk
Date: Tuesday, 19 April 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Ellen Veomett
Title: “The Edge Isoperimetric Inequality for a Graph on Z^n”
Date: Friday, 15 April 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Allan Wylie
Title: “Groundwater Modeling”
Date: Tuesday, 12 April 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Samuel Coskey
Title: López-Escobar’s theorem
Date: Wednesday, 6 April 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Joe Champion
Title: “Integral Arithmagons”
Date: Friday, 1 April 2016
Time: 3:00-5:00pm
Room: MB124

Peter Schmid
Title: “Design of non-reflecting boundary conditions for flows in open domains”
Date: Tuesday, 29 March 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Talin Mirzakhanian
Title: “Runge-Kutta-Chebyshev time stepping for parabolic equations”
Date: Tuesday, 8 March 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Marion Scheepers
Title: “Sorting Permutations”
Date: Friday, 4 March 2016
Time: 3:00-3:50pm
Room: MB124

Shehzad Ahmed
Title: Jónsson successors of singular cardinals
Date: Wednesday, 2 March 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Diego Domenzain
Title: “ERT forward modeling using a finite volume method”
Date: Tuesday, 1 March 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Jason Smith
Title: “Using graphs to count”
Date: Friday, 26 Feb 2016
Time: 3:00-3:50pm
Room: MB124

James Ford
Title: “Problems with Inverse Problems”
Date: Tuesday, 23 February 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Jens Harlander
Title: “Hyperbolic Groups”
Date: Friday, 19 Feb 2016
Time: 3:00-3:50pm
Room: MB124

Hirotachi Abo
Title: “Eigenvectors of tensors”
Date: Friday, 12 February 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Dylan Mikesell
Title: “A look at modern geophysical problems”
Date: Tuesday, 9 February 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Jens Harlander
Title: “L2-homology and Whitehead’s asphericity conjecture”
Date: Friday, 5 February 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Randall Holmes
Title: Consistency of new foundations III
Date: Wednesday, 3 February 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Alex Townsend
Title: “Fast Algorithms Based on Asymptotic Expansions of Special Functions”
Date: Tuesday, 2 February 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Zach Teitler
Title: Random graphs
Date: Friday, 29 January 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Randall Holmes
Title: Consistency of new foundations II
Date: Wednesday, 20 January 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124

Zach Teitler
Title: Strassen’s additivity conjecture and bounds for Waring rank
Date: Friday, 15 January 2016
Time: 3:00-4:00pm
Room: MB124