Spring 2013, Math 515

Class: MW 12:00-1:15, ILC 401

Instructor: Dr. Zach Teitler
Office: MG 233A
Phone: 208-426-1086
E-mail: zteitler@boisestate.edu
Office hours: TuTh 10:30-11:55 (subject to change) and by appointment

Syllabus: pdf, html

Important dates:

Textbook: Real Analysis, Second Edition (2008), by Andrew M. Bruckner, Judith B. Bruckner, and Brian S. Thomson.
This text is available for sale in the campus bookstore. Also available online.

Weekly schedule:
Dates Topics (planned) What we actually did
Week 1

Homeworks 1-5 (show/hide)

Assigned date Assignment Assigned problems Due date
Wed, 1/30/13 1 Do the following: 2:2.13, 2:3.4-5, 2:4.7-8,10, 2:6.1-2
Mark the three best ones, that you want me to grade.
Wed, 2/6/13
Wed, 2/6/13 2 Do the following: 2:8.4, one or two of 2:8.1-3, 2:9.2 or 2:9.4, 2:14.1, 2:14.2, 2:14.7a-d
Mark the three best ones, that you want me to grade.
Also read 2:7.2. What is it saying? (You don't need to turn in anything for this one.)
Wed, 2/20/13
Wed, 2/20/13 3 Do the following: 2.14.3, 2.14.9, 2.14.16; two out of 4.1.1-4,6,9; 4.1.10; either 4.1.15 or 4.1.16
Mark the three best ones, that you want me to grade.
Wed, 3/4/13
Mon, 3/11/13 4 Do the following: two of 4:2.{2,3,5,7,8}, one of 4:2.10-11, 4:6.6a-d, 5:2.2-4
Mark the three best ones, that you want me to grade.
Wed, 3/20/13
Wed, 3/20/13   Read sections 5.5-5.8; review metric spaces (Chapter 9); be ready to finish sections 5.5-5.8, go over the proof of Stone-Weierstrass (section 9.13), and proceed to Chapters 12-14.
Mon, 4/1/13
Wed, 4/3/13 5 Do the following: 5:3.1-3, 5:4.{3,5,8}.
Mark the three best ones, that you want me to grade.
Wed, 4/10/13
Mon, 4/22/13 6 Do 6 of the following: 5:8.1-2, 5:11.4 (read Definition 5.46), 5:12.1cd (n=1), 5:12.3, 5:12.8, 12:1.3.
Mark the three best ones, that you want me to grade.
Wed, 5/1/13
Wed, 5/1/13 7 Do: 12:2.2, 12:3.1, 12:15.2, 12:15.3, 13:3.3
Mark the three best ones, that you want me to grade.
Wed, 5/8/13

Selected resources:

zteitler@boisestate.edu


Back to main page