Spring 2006 Calendar with Assignments and Academic Deadlines

  • Tuesday January 17 first day of classes
  • Wednesday January 18
    • Math 275:

      12.2 Vectors, column vectors, addition, muliplication by a scalar, subtraction, length, midpoints, M147 vector, pix

      1,3,5,6,13,14,15,17-20,24,25,28,29,30,31.

      PDF file with problems to turn in

  • Friday January 20
    • Math 275:

      12.3 Dot product, connection with angle, projections, pix

      1,2,4-7,10,11,12,15,16,19,20,24-26,36-39,45-48,51-52.

      PDF file with problems to turn in

      12.1 due

  • Monday January 23
    • Math 275:

      12.4 Cross Product, connection with angle, orthogonality, anti-commutativity, area and volume

      2-5,8,9,13,14,15,16,23,24,26,27,30-32,34,39,40,41,42,45.

      PDF file with problems to turn in

      12.2 due

  • Tuesday January 24 instructor permission to add
  • Wednesday January 25
    • Math 275:

      12.5 3D lines & planes: equations, distances from a point. GEM relations.

      3-5,7-12,15-17,19,20,22,26,31-33,39,40,45,50,53-54,65,66. (made some slight cuts)

      PDF file with problems to turn in

      12.3 due

  • Friday January 27
  • Monday January 30 add deadline
  • Tuesday January 31
    • Math 275:

      12.7 Cylindrical & spherical coordinates

      3-4,9-10,15-16,21-22,24,28,31,32,35,36,38,39,40,43-46,49-52,63,64,68. (note that this is two days' work).

      PDF file with problems to turn in

      nothing due (12.5 and 12.6 due dates delayed 1 day)

  • Wednesday February 1
  • Friday February 3
  • Monday February 6
    • Math 275:

      13.2 Vector-valued functions: 1st & 2nd derivatives. Path traversal. Unit tangent vector. Tangent lines. Velocity, speed, and acceleration. Derivative of a constant-length vector.

      3,5,9,13,17,19,21,23,25,29,31,33,35,39,47,50.

      PDF file with problems to turn in

      12.7 due

  • Tuesday February 7
  • Wednesday February 8
    • Math 275:

      13.3 Arc length as integral of speed. Arc-length parametrization. Curvature. Various curvature formulas.

      problem set is posted; I'll add recommended probs later.

      PDF file with problems to turn in

  • Friday February 10 Test I
  • Monday February 13
    • Math 175:

      11.2

      recommended problems: 3,5,10 (important though even),13-33 odd (as many as you can do), 37,39,41-44,47,49.

      PDF file with problems to turn in

      11.1 due

  • Tuesday February 14
    • Math 275:

      13.4 Velocity & acceleration. Tangential & normal components of acceleration.

      PDF file with problems to turn in

      13.2 still accepted; note that we are now 1 day behind, so 13.3 is due a day later.

  • Wednesday February 15
  • Friday February 17
    • Math 275:

      14.1 Real-valued functions of more than one variable. Graphs & contours

      recommended 11,12,3,15,17,19,23,24,26,30,35,36,37,43

      PDF file with problems to turn in

      13.3 due

  • Monday February 20 President's Day holiday
  • Tuesday February 21
  • Wednesday February 22 I will be out of town from 10 am Wed until Mon; subs will cover classes. M275: Because I am out of town, and this is easier for the sub, we will do 14.3 before the partial coverage of 16.2 indicated in the schedule. Look below for the 14.3 recommended problems and PDF file.
    • Math 275:

      16.2 Line integrals with respect to arc length. Riemann sums. Contours. Moments.

      recommended problems listed in PDF file

      PDF file with problems to turn in

      13.4 due

  • Friday February 24 I will be out of town from 10 am Wed until Mon; subs will cover classes. M275: we will do 14.3 rather than (part of) 16.2 first, as this is easier for the sub. Look below under 14.3 for recommended problems and PDF of assigned problems.
  • Monday February 27 M275 students note that we covered 14.4 today. Look under 14.4 for recommended problems and assignment file.
    • Math 275:

      14.3 Partial derivatives. Graphical interpretation. Contours. Higher derivatives. Clairaut's. Laplace's equation. Heat equation.

      recommended 13-37odd -- drill! 41,43,47-51,53,55,57-63 odd,68acd,83,85.

      PDF file with problems to turn in

      14.1 and 2 due

  • Tuesday February 28 drop deadline
  • Wednesday March 1
    • Math 275:

      14.4 Contour-map zoom in: tangent plane, differentiability, total differential

      recommended 1,3,4,5,11,13,15 (recall that for a function to be differentiable it is sufficient for its first partials to be continuous), 17,19, 23, 25,31,33 (I'll explain the word "differential" tomorrow). The test will only cover tangent planes and linear approximations, not differentials. PDF file is posted.

      PDF file with problems to turn in

  • Friday March 3 Test II
  • Monday March 6
  • Tuesday March 7
    • Math 275:

      14.6 Directional derivatives, contours & gradients - first for planes. Tangent planes from gradients.

      sorry about getting this up late: for recommended problems from book, see PDF file.

      PDF file with problems to turn in

  • Wednesday March 8
  • Friday March 10
  • Monday March 13
  • Tuesday March 14
  • Wednesday March 15
  • Friday March 17
  • Monday March 20
  • Tuesday March 21
  • Wednesday March 22
  • Friday March 24
  • Monday March 27 Spring Vacation
  • Tuesday March 28 Spring Vacation
  • Wednesday March 29 Spring Vacation
  • Friday March 31 Spring Vacation
  • Monday April 3
  • Tuesday April 4
  • Wednesday April 5 Test III
  • Friday April 7
  • Monday April 10
  • Tuesday April 11
  • Wednesday April 12
  • Friday April 14
  • Monday April 17
  • Tuesday April 18
    • Math 175:

      8.3

      Due to medical complications and likelihood of further surgery, homework will not be collected or graded for the rest of the term. I will post recommended problems from the book and not collect them from now on.

      PDF file with problems to turn in

    • Math 275:

      16.1 Vector fields. Gradient fields & contours.

      Due to medical complications and likelihood of further surgery, homework will not be collected or graded for the rest of the term. I will post recommended problems from the book and not collect them from now on

      PDF file with problems to turn in

  • Wednesday April 19
  • Friday April 21
  • Monday April 24
  • Tuesday April 25
  • Wednesday April 26
    • Math 275:

      16.4 Green's theorem. Swirlies. Flux. Plane divergence theorem. Curl & divergence of a vector field appear.

      I do not actually know how much farther than 16.4 we will get.

      PDF file with problems to turn in

  • Friday April 28 Test IV
    • Math 175:

      Test IV

      study probs because I cant find sample test: 7.3, 4-30; 8.1: 5-16; 8.2: 1-16 (mostly setup); 8.3: 3-9, 27-31; 10.1: 5-18; 10.2: and 10.3 look at the recommended probs.

      PDF file with problems to turn in

  • Monday May 1
  • Tuesday May 2
  • Wednesday May 3
  • Friday May 5