next up previous
Next: About this document ... Up: Math 175 Syllabus (spring Previous: Information and Policies

List of Homework Assignments (with Academic Deadlines and Exam Dates)

This is of course subject to change.

You will notice that the order of the sections is not the order in which they appear in the book (so you will need to pay attention to what comes next!) My intention is to avoid having chapter 11 on sequences and series, which has some of the hardest ideas in the course, from appearing right at the end when we are tired out. It is always a danger when reordering material like this that some homework problem may depend on something we don't know yet - if you think this is happening in a problem, be sure to ask me! The specific problem sets given here were not developed to be taught in this order (I took them from an old syllabus of mine) so there may be some inversions, and I may feel the need to change them when the time comes to actually assign them.

Monday, Jan. 14:
6.1: 6, 10, 14, 16, 18.

Tuesday, Jan. 15:
6.1: 22, 28, 30, 36, 46.

Wednesday, Jan 16:
6.2: 2, 6, 10, 16, 18.

Friday, Jan 18:
6.2: 34, 36, 50, 52, 62.

Monday, Jan 21:
MLK day holiday - no classes! After Saturday the 19th, instructor permission required to add a class.

Tuesday, Jan. 22:
6.3: 2 (you should explain what problem you encounter when you try to use the method of 6.2), 6, 8, 12, 14.

Wednesday, Jan 23:
6.3: 30, 32, 36, 38, 44

Friday, Jan 25:
6.4: 4, 6, 8, 10, 12.

Monday, Jan. 28:
Add deadline. Last day to register, add classes, change classes, or drop without receiving a W.

6.4: 14, 16, 18, 20.

Tuesday, Jan. 29:
6.5: 2-20 even.

Wednesday, Jan 30:
7.7: 2,4, 6, 10, 22.

Friday, Feb. 1:
7.7: 26 (use Maple on 26), 32, 36, 44, 46.

Monday, Feb. 4: Note that at this point we are one day behind. I am not planning to try to edit the schedule, though I may occasionally add helpful remarks. I plan to discuss finish talking about 7.7 today and possibly start 11.1, but in any event 7.7 (both parts) will be due Wednesday and 11.1a has not been assigned. To really follow what is due when, you will need to be in class...

11.1: 6, 8, 12, 14, 16, 18.

Tuesday, Feb. 5:
11.1: 24, 26, 32, 42

Wednesday, Feb. 6:
11.2: 6, 10, 14, 20, 22.

Friday, Feb. 8:
Test 1: The test will cover chapter 6 and section 7.7.

Monday, Feb. 11:
11.2: 26, 30, 32, 38, 42, 56.

Tuesday, Feb. 12:
7.1: 4, 6, 10, 12, 18, 24.

Wednesday, Feb. 13:
7.1: 30, 38, 42, 52, 54.

Friday, Feb. 15:
7.4: 4, 8, 16, 20, 24, 28.

Monday, Feb. 18:
President's Day holiday - no classes!

Tuesday, Feb. 19:
7.4: 32, 44, 48, 60, 66.

Wednesday, Feb. 20:
7.8: 2, 6, 8, 14, 20, 24.

Friday, Feb. 22:
7.8: 26, 42, 50, 52, 56, 76.

This is the drop deadline. You will not usually be able to drop any class after this date.

Monday, Feb. 25:
11.3: 4, 6, 14, 16, 30, 32.

Tuesday, Feb. 26:
11.4: 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 16.

Wednesday, Feb. 27:
11.4: 18, 20, 30, 40, 42, 46.

Friday, Mar. 1:
11.5: 2,6,8,10,12.

Monday, Mar. 4:
11.5: 18,24,28,32.

Tuesday, Mar. 5:
11.6: 2, 4, 6, 10.

Wednesday, Mar. 6:
11.6: 12, 18, 22, 28.

Friday, Mar. 8:
Test 2

Monday, Mar. 11:
11.7

Tuesday, Mar. 12:
11.8: 4, 6, 8, 10, 16.

Wednesday, Mar. 13:
11.9: 4, 6, 8, 12, 14, 20, 30

Friday, Mar. 15:
11.10: 4, 6, 10, 12, 16.

Monday, Mar. 18:
11.10: 24, 26, 28, 38, 42

Tuesday, Mar. 19:
11.11: 2, 4, 8, 10, 14, 18

Wednesday, Mar. 20:
7.2: 2, 4, 8, 14, 22.

Friday, Mar. 22:
7.2: 26, 42, 52, 60, 64.

Happy Spring Break!!!

Monday, Apr. 1:
7.3: 2, 4, 6, 8, 10

Tuesday, Apr. 2:
7.3: 14, 24, 34, 36, 40.

Wednesday, Apr. 3:
7.5: 8-72 by 8's (all problems which are multiples of 8).

Friday, Apr. 5:
Test 3

Monday, Apr. 8:
8.1: 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16.

Tuesday, Apr. 9:
8.1: 18, 24, 26, 32, 38.

Wednesday, Apr. 10:
8.2: 6, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 32

Friday, Apr. 12:
8.2 (there is actually only one 8.2 assignment)

Monday, Apr. 15:
8.3: 2, 4, 10, 14 (careful -- the dam is not vertical!).

Tuesday, Apr. 16:
8.3: 20, 22, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40 (for 40, exercise 35 might be useful).

Wednesday, Apr. 17:
10.1: 2, 4, 10, 12, 14, 16, 20, 22, 24, 26.

Friday, Apr. 19:
10.2 6, 8, 14, 18, 28, 34, 36.

Monday, Apr. 22:
10.3 not covered

Tuesday, Apr. 23:
10.3 not covered

Wednesday, Apr. 24:
10.4a: 2, 6, 14, 18, 20, 24, 26. 10.4b: 36, 38, 44, 60, 62, 64, 68.

Friday, Apr. 26:
10.5

Monday, Apr. 29:
9.1

Tuesday, Apr. 30:
9.2 2, 10, 16 (look at lab 17 for Maple tools), 22, 24.

Wednesday, May 1:
9.3 2, 6, 10, 14, 22, 24, 32.

Friday, May 3:
Test 4

Monday, May 6:
9.3

Tuesday, May 7:
review/overflow

Wednesday, May 8:
review/overflow

Friday, May 10:
Last day of classes. review/overflow

Monday, May 13:
Final exam 10:30-12:30 am.


next up previous
Next: About this document ... Up: Math 175 Syllabus (spring Previous: Information and Policies
Randall Holmes
2002-01-09