next up previous
Next: About this document ... Up: Math 170 Syllabus (summer Previous: Information and Policies

List of Homework Assignments (with Exam Dates)

The problem numbers are now correct for the fourth edition of Stewart.

Chapter 1 consists of material with which you should already be familiar. You may wish to review some material in chapter 1, especially when we are doing related material in later chapters.

Monday, June 9:
2.1, 2.2

p. 89: 2, 4, 6, 8.

p. 99: 4, 6, 8, 12, 14, 16, 18, 22, 24.

Tuesday, June 10:
2.3, 2.4

p. 109: 2, 4, 6, 10, 12, 16, 18, 24, 30, 36, 58*.

p. 120: 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 14.

Wednesday, June 11:
2.4, 2.5

p. 120: 18, 22, 24, 32, 36.

p. 131: 6, 10, 12, 16, 18, 22 (I'm not sure that what the book says is correct here - what do you think?), 30, 40, 42, 46, 48, 50.

Thursday, June 12: Homework review, catch-up or possibly Maple lab.

Monday, June 16:
2.6, 2.7

p. 144: 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 36, 40.

p. 154: 2, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 20.

Tuesday, June 17:
2.8, 2.9

p. 161: 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 24.

p. 171: 2, 4 (be sure to give reasons!), 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 20, 22, 24, 26.

Wednesday, June 18:
3.1, 3.2

p. 189: 4-32 by fours, 38, 40, 44, 50, 52.

p. 195: 4-26 even, 32, 34, 42, 44.

Thursday, June 19:
Test I.

Monday, June 23:
3.4, 3.5

p. 213: 2-24 even, 30, 36, 38, 40.

p. 221: 4-44 by fours, 52, 54, 58, 74.

Tuesday, June 24:
3.6, 3.7

p. 230: 6, 8, 10, 16, 18, 26, 30, 42, 44, 50, 60, 62.

p. 237: 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 30, 32, 34, 40, 50, 54.

Wednesday, June 25:
3.8, 3.11

p. 244: 2, 4, 8, 10, 22, 32, 36, 38, 40.

p. 264: 4, 6, 8, 10, 24, 26, 32, 34, 36, 42.

Thursday, June 26:
Homework review, catch-up or possibly Maple lab.

Monday, June 30:
3.3, 3.10

p. 204: 8, 10, 12, 14, 18.

p. 257: 2, 8, 10, 12, 14, 18, 22, 32.

Drop or withdrawal deadline at 5 pm

Tuesday, July 1:
4.1, catch-up?

p. 284: 4, 6, 8, 10, 16, 18, 20, 26, 50, 54, 56, 58, 60, 62, 64. In problems 50-64, list all critical numbers.

Wednesday, July 2:
Homework review, catch-up, or possibly Maple lab.

Thursday, July 3:
Test II.

Happy Independence Day (but notice that we do not get any class time off!)

Monday, July 7:
4.2, 4.3

p. 293: 2, 4, 6, 10, 12, 16, 18, 20, 24, 28, 34.

p. 302: 2, 6, 8, 10, 12-20 even.

Tuesday, July 8:
4.3, 4.4

p. 302: 22, 26, 28, 32, 36, 38, 40, 48, 52.

p. 311: 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 24, 30, 32, 40, 44, 50, 62.

Wednesday, July 9:
4.5, 4.6

p. 321: 4-48 by fours.

p. 328: 2-16 even.

Thursday, July 10:
Homework review, catch-up or possibly Maple lab.

Monday, July 14:

Vive la France!!!

4.7, 4.8

p. 334: 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 28, 30, 34, 42, 52, 54.

p. 344: 6, 10, 12, 16, 22, 24.

Tuesday, July 15:
4.9.

p. 349: 4, 6, 8, 12, 14, 24, 28, 34.

Wednesday, July 16:
4.10, 5.1

p. 356: 4-44 by fours, 46, 48, 54, 60, 62.

p. 376: 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 18, 20, 24.

Thursday, July 17:
Test III.

Monday, July 21:
5.2

p. 388: 2, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 22, 30, 32, 34, 36, 48, 50, 54.

Tuesday, July 22:
5.3

p. 398: 2, 4, 6, 10, 12, 18-38 even, 42, 46, 64.

Wednesday, July 23:
5.4.

p. 407: 6, 10, 14, 18, 22, 24, 28, 36, 46, 52, 54, 56.

Thursday, July 24:
Homework review, catch-up or possibly Maple lab.

Monday, July 28:
5.5

p. 416: 2, 4, 6, 12, 16, 22, 26, 32, 44, 46, 48, 54, 62.

Tuesday, July 29:
5.6

p. 425: 2-10 even.

Wednesday, July 30:
review and/or catch-up?

Thursday, July 31:
Final exam.


next up previous
Next: About this document ... Up: Math 170 Syllabus (summer Previous: Information and Policies
Randall Holmes
2003-06-10